Falode Commends Betsy Obaseki For Successful Pre-Season Tournament

Edo State First Lady, Mrs Betsy Obaseki With The Giant Trophy Of The Betsy Obaseki Women Football Tournament.

Falode said Saturday : “Thank you Your Excellency, First Lady of Edo State, Mrs Betsy Obaseki, for organising a colourful, impressive and world class pre-season football (BOWFT) tournament for our young girls from across Nigeria.

NWFL Chairperson, Ms Aisha Falode.

The Chairperson of the Nigeria Women Football League, Aisha Falode, has commended the Edo State First Lady, Mrs Betsy Obaseki, for hosting a very successful 12-club pre-season tournament for women’s football clubs/teams in Nigeria.

“The social message #Say No To Drugs and the seminar were a good mix for the message to sink.

“The social message #Say No To Drugs and the seminar were a good mix for the message to sink.

“On behalf of all the teams/clubs that participated in the ten-day event, we say thank you.”

NWFL Chairperson Ms Aisha Falode & Edo Sports Commission Boss, Yussuf Alli Ushering in The First Lady, Mrs Betsy Obaseki.

FC Robo of Lagos won the title when after defeating Edo Queens FC of Benin City in the final match played on Friday evening by a lone goal. The Emmanuel Osahon-tutoted team grabbed a cash prize of N5million, while Edo Queens got N3million as second placed team. Five- times Nigerian League champions, Delta Queens of Asaba finished third place after beating Nasarawa Amazons 4-2 on penalties in the Third place final. Delta Queens got N1.5million for their efforts, while Nasarawa Amazons got N750,000 as fourth placed team. The other 8 clubs got N500,000 each, a total N4million as consolation prizes.

Twelve First Ladies from across Nigeria were the Special Guests of Honour at the final match played at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium.

The Edo State Governor, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, the Sports Minister, Sunday Dare, NFF First Vice President, Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi, and former Sports Minister, Barrister Solomon Dalung were the other Special Guests at the final match.