Six clubs qualify for 2023 NWFL Premiership Super 6

Following matchday 14 of the Nigeria Women’s Football League Premiership regular season last week, six clubs have confirmed their places in the Super Six title playoff tournament. 

The qualified clubs are Delta Queens, Rivers Angels, Bayelsa Queens, Confluence Queens, Robo Queens and Edo Queens.

The hosts and date of the Nigeria Women’s Football League Premiership Super Six group stage draw will be announced in due course. 

14 clubs participated in this year’s regular season, which kicked off on 1 December 2022 and ended on 21 April 2023. The teams were split into two groups of seven (7) teams, with the top three from each pool qualifying for the final tournament.

In Group A, Edo Queens finished as group winners with 25 points from 12 matches, followed by Robo Queens in second with 22 points and Confluence Queens in third with 21 points. 

Delta Queens claimed the top spot in Group B, with 26 points, just one ahead of title holders Bayelsa Queens sit in second and Rivers Angels in third with 20 points from 12 games.

On the scorers’ chart, Omokwo Mercy of Delta Queens finished the regular season with nine goals from 12 matches, three ahead of the trio of Abia Angels’ Agams Nkechi, teammate Chinaza Agoh, and Robo Queens’ Folashade Ijamilusi with six goals.

The 2023 NWFL Premiership Super 6 champions will represent the country at the 2023 WAFU-B Women’s Champions League qualifiers in August when they will be eyeing a spot in the finals.

Bayelsa Queens are the defending champions with a perfect feat in 2022, amassing 15 points from wins over Nasarawa Amazons, Rivers Angels, Delta Queens, Edo Queens, and Naija Ratels.

NWFL | Communication Department