Asaba to host 2023 NWFL Premiership Super 6

The Nigeria Women’s Football League has announced that Asaba, Delta State will host the 2022/2023 Nigeria Women’s Football League Premiership Super 6, beginning from Friday, 5 May.

This announcement follows the approval of the Nigeria Football Federation for the title playoff competition to be held from 5 to 12 May, 2023 in Asaba following its bid and successful inspections.

The participating six clubs are Delta Queens, Rivers Angels, Bayelsa Queens, Confluence Queens, Robo Queens and Edo Queens.

According to the NWFL Chief Operating Officer Modupe Shabi, participating clubs are expected to be in Asaba on 5th May, with the draw and pre-match meetings also slated to be held the same day.

The round-robin competition will see each club meets every other participant, kicking off on Saturday, May 6, with Monday 8 May and Thursday 11 May scheduled to be the rest days during the event.

The Asaba 2023 NWFL Premiership Super 6 champions will represent the country at the 2023 WAFU-B Women’s Champions League qualifiers in August when they will be eyeing a spot in the finals.

Bayelsa Queens are the defending champions with a perfect feat in 2022, amassing 15 points from wins over Nasarawa Amazons, Rivers Angels, Delta Queens, Edo Queens, and Naija Ratels.

NWFL will communicate further details on the Super Six in due course.

NWFL Communication Department