NWFL confirms new Premiership Super 6 start date

Nigeria Women’s Football League have confirmed the 2023 NWFL Premiership Super Six will start five days earlier than planned.

The highly-anticipated Super 6 finals originally scheduled to run from June 9 to 16, will now hold from June 5 to 11, 2023 in Asaba, Delta State.

In the latest circular to clubs, the NWFL’s governing body, through Chief Operating Officer, Modupe Shabi, confirmed the slight changes following the Nigeria Football Federation approval.

The sudden changes also came in the wake of the NFF bid to meet the fast-approaching deadline set by CAF for the submission of countries’ representatives for the WAFU-B playoff for the CAF Women’s Champions League later this year.

According to the NWFL programme schedule for the showpiece, matches of this year’s Super 6 kicks off on Tuesday, June 6, while teams’ arrival and draw happens 24 hours earlier, on Monday June 5.

Participating teams are Rivers Angels, Delta Queens, Edo Queens, Bayelsa Queens, Confluence Queens and Robo Queens following their qualifications from the regular season concluded in April 2023.

In Group A, Edo Queens finished as group winners with 25 points from 12 matches, followed by Robo Queens in second with 22 points and Confluence Queens in third with 21 points. 

Delta Queens claimed the top spot in Group B, with 26 points, just one ahead of title holders Bayelsa Queens sit in second and Rivers Angels in third with 20 points from 12 games.

On the scorers’ chart, Omokwo Mercy of Delta Queens finished the regular season with nine goals from 12 matches, three ahead of the trio of Abia Angels’ Agams Nkechi, teammate Chinaza Agoh, and Robo Queens’ Folashade Ijamilusi with six goals.

The winner of this year’s NWFL Super Six tournament will represent the country in WAFU-B zonal qualifiers for CAF Women’s Champions League.

Full programme schedule

  1. Arrival of participating Clubs/Draw/Pre Match Meeting- 4 p.m. Monday, June 5
  2. Match Day 1 (1 match from each Group: A & B) Tuesday, June 6
  3. Match Day 2 (1 match from each Group: A & B) Wednesday, June 7
  4. Rest Day Thursday, June 8
  5. Match Day 3 (One match from each Group: A & B) Friday, June 9
  6. REST DAY – Saturday, June 10
  7. Match Day 4 (THIRD PLACE & FINAL) Sunday, June 11.

Signed: NWFL Communication