Nigeria Women’s Football League Premiership Best XI of the season unveiled

Nigeria Women’s Football League has released the Best XI of the 2022/2023 Nigeria Women’s Football League Premiership following the completion of the this year’s Super Six tournament with a good sprinkling of six finalists included in the season’s top performers.

Players from five clubs made the list of the of Best XI as selected by members of NWFL’s advisory group after the Super Six in Asaba.

Four players from champions Delta Queens secured spots in the Best XI of the 2022/2023 NWFL Premiership as revealed on Tuesday.

NWFL Best XI of the 2022/23 season

With an impressive 2-1 victory over 2021/2022 winners, Bayelsa Queens in the final on Sunday, the Asaba-based team emerged as the champions of the top-flight women’s football league in Nigeria and several individuals stood out with their exceptional performances.

In goal, Mgbechi Anderline exhibited exceptional skills, conceding only two goals during the NWFL Premiership Super Six with superb saves to help her team earn an invisible record and eventual title.

Another standout player, also named Taiwo Afolabi, commanded the midfield with authority.

In the attack, Omokwo Mercy, the league’s top scorer with nine goals, secured her place in the attacking line alongside the Most Valuable Player of the season, Agoh Chinaza.

Agoh scored a deciding brace to lift Tosan Blankson’s side to its first league title in 11 years, while runners up, Bayelsa Queens also has a strong presence in the Best XI with three players.

Captain Igwe Uzoamaka, demonstrated her defensive prowess, while the midfield duo of Sabastine Flourish and Edet Glory contributed significantly to the team’s performance.

Third-placed Rivers Angels have defensive duo of Mamuzo Edafe and Ogbona Akudo in the squad and Alani Jumoke (Edo Queens) and Esther Onyenezide (FC Robo Queens) complete the Best XI.

2022/2023 NWFL Premiership Best XI

1. Mgbechi Anderline (Delta Queens)

2. Alani Jumoke (Edo Queens)
3. Mamuzo Edafe (Rivers Angels)
4. Ogbona Akudo (Rivers Angels)
5. Igwe Uzoamaka (Bayelsa Queens)

6. Flourish Sabastine (Bayelsa Queens)
7. Edet Glory (Bayelsa Queens)
8. Esther Onyenezide (FC Robo Queens)
9. Taiwo Afolabi (Delta Queens)

10. Mercy Omokwo (Delta Queens)
11. Chinaza Agoh (Delta Queens)