2023 Nigeria Women’s Football League Championship get date & venues

The Nigeria Women Football League has announced that the second tier of the league, the NWFL Championship, will be held in Sagamu and Ikenne simultaneously in Ogun State from July 7th to 14th, 2023.

The upcoming Championship comes in almost a month after the Premiership held in Asaba as the NWFL seek to conclude the 2023 season calendar of the three tiers of the women’s league in Nigeria.

In a statement signed by the Chief Operating Officer of the NWFL, Modupe Shabi, the NWFL Championship teams are expected to arrive in Ogun State on Friday, July 7th for the Draws and Pre-Match Meetings.

The Match Day One on Saturday, July 8th, would see three matches from Group A and B, while Match Day Two on Sunday, July 9th would witness the same number of three matches.

Monday, July 10th is Rest Day, while Match Day Three holds on Tuesday 11th July with three matches to be played.

Match Day Four holds on Wednesday, July 12th with three matches, and Thursday, July 13th will be observed as the second Rest Day.

The Match Day Five holds on Friday 14th July with the last three matches.

The NWFL C.O.O noted that for this year’s Championship, 12 registered clubs will play in Ogun State, adding that at the end of the NWFL Championship on July 14th in Ogun State, two teams with the highest points will be promoted to the NWFL Premiership.

Two stadia picked as match venues for this year’s tournament are Remo Stars Stadium in Ikenne and FC Ebiede Stadium in Sagamu – both in Ogun State.



  1. Prince Kazeem Eletu FC
  2. Honey Badgers FC
  3. Kwara Ladies FC
  4. Ekiti Queens FC
  5. Imo Striker Queens FC
  6. Dreamstar Ladies
  7. Sunshine Queens FC
  8. Lakeside Football Academy
  9. Delta Babes FC
  10. Pelican Stars
  11. Dannaz FC
  12. Moje Queens

7th July to 14th, 2021.

**Two teams will be promoted to NWFL Premiership League.

**Two teams will be relegated to NWFL Nationwide League.

MWFL | Communication Department