2023 NWFL Championship: Honey Badgers, Dannaz Ladies end Lakeside Queens, Ekiti Queens run

The 2023 Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) Championship took another twist as Dannaz Ladies and Honey Badgers ended the unbeaten run of Ekiti Queens and Lakeside Queens respectively in the six Matchday 4 ties at Remo Stars Stadium, Ikenne on Wednesday.

Janet Ikpa opened the scoring for the Benue team in the second minute of play before Sofiat Hassan equalised three minutes later.

Daniel Hellen restored Sabo Okala team’s lead in the 57th minute as Ikpa’s second game of the game increased the lead to 3-1 while Taiwo Oladiti made it 3-2 for Lakeside but it wasn’t enough to prevent the host from its first loss after four games.

Dannaz Ladies also put an end to the unbeaten and winning run of Ekiti Queens with  a resounding 3-0 win while Solaty Fatimah scored the first hat-trick of the NWFL Championship.

Meanwhile, DreamStar Ladies also picked a 3-0 win against Moje Queens thanks to goals from Mustapha Alaba, Owoseni Bukola, and Sanni Aishat.

Moreso, Delta Queenc continued its fight for survival by picking its second point of the campaign with Itobore Destiny canceling out Mosaku Bisola’s opener for Prince Kazeem Eletu Queens.

Goals from Adeusi Aalaba (penalty) and Ogadinma Ndekani lifted Pelican Stars to a 2-0 win over Kwara Ladies.

Moyin Owolabi bagged a brace to help Sunshine Queens to a 2-1 win against Imo Striker Queens as Oscar Precious reduced the deficit for the Owerri based side.

In Group A, Dannaz Ladies top the log with nine points ahead of Pelican Stars (nine points), Ekiti Queens (nine points), DreamStar Ladies (six points), Kwara Ladies (three points), and Moje Queens without any points.

Lakeside Queens remains at the top of Group B with nine points ahead of Sunshine Queens (nine points) on goal difference, Prince Kazeem Eletu Queens (seven points), Honey Badgers (four points), Imo Striker Queens (three points), and Delta Babes (two points).

Thursday will be observed as a rest day before the final matchday on Friday where the top teams from Group A and B will gain promotion to the country’s topflight, NWFL Premiership.