NWFL Championship 2021: All You Need To Know About The 6 Participating Teams


The countdown for the 2021 NWFL Championship season is well and truly on, with six teams set to vie for two Premiership slots from the 22nd of June to the 29th.

Gallant Queens, Naija Ratels, Kwara Ladies, Kaduna Queens, Adamawa Queens and Heartland Queens will battle it out at the Aguiyi Ironsi Sports Complex, Abuja.

We give you a brief recap of the six teams participating at the 2021 NWFL Championship Season.

Heartland Queens (Imo LandLadies).

Heartland Queens are owned and sponsored by the Imo State Government. The ‘Imo Landladies’ earned promotion to the NWFL Premiership in 2017, but failed to meet up with the league’s registration requirement in the 2021 season, thus they were demoted to the Championship. They have a solid team and finished just a point above Dreamstar Ladies in the 2019 season, after a great win against Edo Queens in the last day of the season.

They are coached by a very experienced manager, George Oyenekwe, who have once coached Nasarawa Amazons. They also boast of quality players like Chindinma Anaele, Ezinne Nwokocha, Ugobest Osuji, Amaechi Duru and many others.

Naija Ratels FC (The Ratels).

Naija Ratels will be playing in the Championship for the first time, having played in the Nationwide in 2019. They are coached by Bankole Olowookere, who is also the head coach of the Nigeria Women U-17 Football team, Flamingos.

The team wowed Football fans when they went ahead to reach the Semi-final of the Flying Officers Cup in 2020, beating the likes of Kaduna Queens, Royal Queens and also playing a draw with Edo Queens and Nasarawa Amazons respectively.

Aminat Bello, Paulina Ali, Adanna Nwachukwu and many others are players to watch in Ratels, as they look forward to begin their quest for Premiership promotion.

Kaduna Queens (Crocodile Ladies).

Kaduna Queens Queens got relegated in the 2019 season, after losing a relegation Play-Offs battle against Osun Babes in Abuja. Coach Shuaibu Aminu told newsmen recently that he wants to return to the Premiership next season, it simply means he has to do well in the Championship season.

Oluchi Godwin, Dorcas Yohanna, Chibere Eze, George Bahado and inspirational Captain Florence Israel are all ready for the new Championship season.

Adamawa Queens (Fintiri Ladies).

The ‘Fintiri’ Ladies have rebuilt their squad since toping their group and qualifying for the 2019 NWFL Premiership Super 6. Though, they have lost some key players since their demotion to the Championship, but still yet, they can boast of some quality players in their team.

New manager Joshua Stephen will be relying on the experience of the likes of Eunice Ezeani, Omede Regina, Archibong Glory, Sabo Monica and others.

Kwara Ladies (The Harmony Ladies).

Kwara Ladies got promoted from the Nationwide to the Championship in 2019 and since then have been struggling to find their feet in preparation for the Championship. Amoo Latifat, Lawal Hadiza and key Goalkeeper Abdulraheem Bashirat have what it takes to seal a Premiership slot for the “Harmony Ladies”

Gallant Queens FC ( The Green Amazons)

Gallant Queens will be participating in the league for the first time and are well prepared for the challenge ahead of them. They have some quality players and one of them is the former Captain of Invincible Angels, Rejoice Artetan, who has great experience at the back. Coach Musa Haruna will also expect the likes of Jane Garuba, Adeola Akinwande and the rest to give in a good fight when the Championship season begins.

Leave a Reply