NWFL Super 6: African Independent Television (AIT), NWFL Confirm Live Coverage Of Final Matches.

Nigerians and women football lovers can watch tomorrow’s final round of games in the NWFL Premiership Super 6 on AIT, the NWFL disclosed.

The Nigeria Women Football League management (NWFL) confirmed on Saturday that the African Independent Television (AIT) will beam the final match live by 3pm on Sunday evening.

The Match between Edo Queens and Bayelsa Queens will kick off by 10am in the morning, while two matches that involves Rivers Angels and Sunshine Queens. FC Robo Queens and Delta Queens will be played simultaneously by 3pm in the afternoon.

Rivers Angels are presently on top of the log, with 8 points, same points with Delta Queens who are second. FC Robo Queens are third with 7 points, while Bayelsa Queens and Edo Queens are 5th and 6th respectively.

NWFL Super 6: Osahon Rates FC Robo’s Title Chances After Bayelsa Queens Win.

FC Robo’s manager, Emmanuel Osahon is adamant that is side are well equipped to fight for the NWFL Premiership League title after winning Bayelsa Queens 2-0 on tuesday afternoon.

The ‘Lagos Landladies’ moved to the top of the Super 6 table after beating the ‘Gloryland’ girls convincingly at the Otunba Dipo Dina International Stadium. .

Goals from Taiwo Lawal and mercurial captain Gift Monday sent them ontop of table and will now face Edo Queens on thursday at the same venue.

“It feels good to be ontop presently, but it comes with a lot of hard work,” Osahon told www.thenwfl.com.

Though, the experienced manager is refusing to get carried away, however, he feels it would be unfair for people to write off his burgeoning side from winning the title for the first time in their history.

“It feels good to be ontop presently, but it comes with a lot of hard work,” Osahon told www.thenwfl.com.

“We studied our opponent very well and am glad we could do a great technical job. We had to block all the loop holes and it worked very well.

“We also made sure our opponents didn’t come out much so that we won’t make so much mistakes.

“We aren’t here for sight seeing, we are here to fight for what other clubs are fighting for. We might be a modest club, but we know what we are doing.

“I am looking forward to ending the Super 6 well, we all have equal opportunities and we won’t relent”. He concluded.

FC Robo Queens are expected to battle Edo Queens on thursday afternoon at the Otunba Dipo Dina International Stadium, Ijebu-ode.

NWFL Premiership: Top Six Clubs To Fight For Title; As Bottom 8 Battle Relegation


The board of the Nigeria Women Football League headed by Aisha Falode and the representatives of the 14 NWFL Premiership clubs, Monday, in a virtual meeting agreed that, the top six teams at the end of the First Round of the ongoing 2020/2021 League season on April 7, 2021, will play in a Super Six Series to determine the season’s League Champions.

While the bottom eight clubs at the end of the same period would battle for survival in a play-off, with the last two teams at the end of the series, relegated.

The Chairperson of the NWFL, Aisha Falode, said at the end of Monday’s Virtual meeting to review the activities of the 2020/2021 NWFL Premiership season for the second stanza, that; “While the full season will end after the last game on Wednesday, 7th July 2021, the qualifiers for the much anticipated CAF Champions League holds in May.

“If the NWFL Premiership season should continue until July 7, Nigerian clubs will be ruled out of the West African Football Union (WAFU) qualifiers for the CAF Women Champions League which has been slated to hold in May. And it will be counterproductive if we continue the league and miss out of the CAF Women Champions League which Nigerian clubs are working very hard to win the inaugural edition.

“So, the NWFL board agreed with all the NWFL Premiership clubs to allow the top six clubs at the end of the First Round on April 7, to play for the title in a Super Six championship, whose date and venue will be communicated to the qualified clubs. While the bottom eight clubs will engage in a play off to determine the two teams that will be relegated.”

Falode, noted that to reach these decisions, the NWFL board got the consent of the 14 clubs in the NWFL Premiership. She expressed her delight on the cooperation and understanding showed by the clubs.